Moving totes for Stetson students
Short answer: Daytona Moving Bins Co. delivers clean, reusable moving totes to Stetson students and picks up the empty totes after you unpack. Students get 15% off with a valid student ID, so a dorm-size package of 20 totes is $75.65 for a week. Stetson is about 24 miles from our Ormond Beach base, just past our free 20-mile zone. We add $1.50 per mile each way beyond 20 miles (roughly $12 round trip) and quote it before you pay.
Stetson University is a private university in historic DeLand, about 30 minutes west of Daytona Beach. Undergraduates must live on campus for their first three years, so most students move through a mix of traditional halls, suites, apartments and Greek houses.
This guide gathers what Stetson students and families need for move-in and move-out: dates, housing, what to bring, getting around and the official pages to check. Everything is sourced from the school and local agencies, checked October 28, 2026. Always confirm details with the school before you go.
Key move dates at Stetson
- Saturday, August 15, 2026; One-Stop drive-thru check-in 8:00 a.m.-2:00 p.m. at the Lynn Business Center parking lotFall 2026 new-student move-in (FOCUS) (stetson.edu)
- Sunday, August 16, 2026, 11:45 a.m.-1:30 p.m., Commons Dining HallFall 2026 family farewell lunch (stetson.edu)
- Not found in a published 2026 source. Pattern from the 2025-26 selection guide: halls opened August 16 (new) and August 17 (current), 2025.Fall 2026 continuing-student move-in (stetson.edu)
- 2026 dates not confirmed. In 2025 the break ran Wednesday, Nov. 26 through Friday, Nov. 28, with classes resuming Monday, Dec. 1.Thanksgiving break (www2.stetson.edu)
- New international students Tuesday, Jan. 5; new FOCUS students Thursday, Jan. 7; current students Sunday, Jan. 10, 2027 (10 a.m.-2 p.m. for those new to campus housing)Spring 2027 move-in (stetson.edu)
- Check-out by 12:00 p.m. Wednesday, May 6, or 24 hours after your last final, whichever comes first. Approved late stays end 10:00 a.m. May 11.Spring closing (most recent published page, year not stated) (stetson.edu)
- Applications open April 1 on MyHousing; summer move-in began May 17 on the latest closing page (year not stated)Summer housing (stetson.edu)
- Open November 1; new-student priority self-selection deadline April 1Fall housing applications (stetson.edu)
Stetson at a glance
- All undergraduates, including transfer and international students, must meet a three-year on-campus residency requirement. (catalog.stetson.edu)
- Incoming transfer students with 30 or more college-level credit hours may be exempt from the residency requirement. (catalog.stetson.edu)
- New-student move-in for Fall 2026 was Saturday, August 15, 2026, with drive-thru check-in at the Lynn Business Center parking lot from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. (stetson.edu)
- Lynn Hall, a new four-story, 305-bed residence hall, opened in January 2026 and was dedicated on January 15, 2026. (www2.stetson.edu)
- Smith Hall was demolished and is now a green space between Gordis Hall and the beach volleyball courts. (www2.stetson.edu)
- Only University Hall, Stetson Cove and the 300 building of University Village Apartments are animal-friendly, and pets need advance approval. (stetson.edu)
Where do Stetson students live?
| Housing | Type | What to know for moving |
|---|---|---|
| Carson Hall and Hollis Hall | Residence hall | Two-story buildings joined by a breezeway and stairwell. Most first-year students are assigned here in shared rooms with community bathrooms. (stetson.edu) |
| Gordis Hall | Residence hall | First-year hall, gendered by floor, about 148 residents in shared rooms with community bathrooms. Rooms are 13'1" x 14'1". (stetson.edu) |
| Nemec Hall | Residence hall | Mainly first-year students in pods (Alpha through Epsilon), about 15 students per pod floor. Rooms are 10' x 17' with a sink. (stetson.edu) |
| Conrad Hall | Residence hall | Home of the Honors and Bonner programs, first-year and upper-division, about 83 residents. Floors 1 and 3 are female and floor 2 is male. (stetson.edu) |
| Lynn Hall (new, 216 E. University Ave.) | Residence hall | Opened January 2026. Four stories with an elevator and about 305 beds for all class levels. (stetson.edu) |
| Chaudoin Hall | Residence hall | Historic 1892 hall listed for female students, about 189 residents, with suite or private bathrooms and a sink in each room. Room sizes vary by wing. (stetson.edu) |
| Emily Hall | Residence hall | Upper-division, transfer and exchange students in suites. No elevator. (stetson.edu) |
| University Hall | Residence hall | Animal-friendly hall for all class levels, 58 two-person rooms with private-style bathrooms. No elevator. (stetson.edu) |
| Hatter Hall | Residence hall | Upper-division, gender-inclusive, about 126 residents in two-person suites. Three floors with an elevator and ADA-accessible rooms. (stetson.edu) |
| Stetson Oaks Apartments | Apartment-style | 285 E. Stetson St. (stetson.edu) |
| Stetson Palms Apartments | Apartment-style | 155 E. Stetson St. (stetson.edu) |
| Stetson Cove Apartments | Apartment-style | 315 W. Pennsylvania Ave. (stetson.edu) |
| University Village Apartments (UVA) | Apartment-style | 358 E. Michigan Ave. (stetson.edu) |
| Houses A-F (fraternity houses) | Residence hall | Upper-division fraternity members, about 143 residents, on Fraternity Circle and E. Pennsylvania Ave. (stetson.edu) |
| Houses 2-7 (sorority houses) | Residence hall | About 16 residents per house on E. Bert Fish Drive and E. (stetson.edu) |
When is Stetson move-in day for Fall 2026?
New first-year students moved in on Saturday, August 15, 2026. One-Stop check-in ran from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. as a drive-thru in the Lynn Business Center parking lot.
Check-in was mandatory, and you arrived at your pre-registered time with your Stetson ID number ready. That is where you picked up your FOCUS packet and residence hall access.
FOCUS Week ran August 15 through 19. Families said goodbye at a lunch on Sunday, August 16, in the Commons Dining Hall.
Stetson had not published a 2026 continuing-student move-in date on the pages we checked. In 2025, halls opened August 16 for new students and August 17 for returning students.
Starting mid-year? Spring 2027 check-in is January 5 for new international students, January 7 for new students and January 10 for returning students. Check in at University Hall.
Sources: stetson.edu/focus-schedule-2026--7.30, www2.stetson.edu/stetson-community-welcomes-c, stetson.edu/housing-selection-guide-2025, stetson.edu/spring-move-in
How does Stetson's drive-thru check-in and unloading work?
The housing office's fall move-in page was last updated for Fall 2023, but it shows the usual routine. New students enter the Lynn Business Center lot from the south entrance on E. Ohio Avenue.
Continuing students check in at University Hall, entering from N. Palmetto Court. A volunteer crew called the Home Team helps new students carry things in.
Label every box and bag with your building and room number. Unload quickly, then move your car within 30 to 45 minutes so the next family can pull up.
Before you get keys, Stetson Health Services must have your health history and immunization records. Bring drinks and snacks for the line.
- Stetson ID number and a government-issued photo ID
- Hatter1 Card, or request it online first so you can collect it at check-in
- Submit your Room Condition Report within 72 hours of moving in
- Arriving early without approval can cost $100 per day plus a policy fee
Sources: stetson.edu/fall-move-in, stetson.edu/immunization-requirements
Which Stetson residence hall will you live in as a first-year?
Most first-year students live in Carson-Hollis, Gordis or Nemec Hall in two-person rooms. Some first-years also land in University Hall, Chaudoin Hall or the new Lynn Hall.
Honors and Bonner students are assigned to Conrad Hall. Smith Hall, once a first-year hall, has been demolished.
Lynn Hall opened in January 2026 at 216 E. University Avenue. It is four stories with an elevator and about 305 beds, so moving in there is easier than most.
Carson and Hollis are two-story buildings joined by a stairwell, and no elevator is listed. Plan for stairs in the older halls and pack in loads you can carry.
Sources: stetson.edu/housing-selection-guide-2025, www2.stetson.edu/whats-new-on-campus, stetson.edu/lynn-hall, stetson.edu/carson-hollis-hall
What furniture does a Stetson room have, and what should you bring?
Every hall room comes with a self-loftable XL twin bed, dresser, desk, desk chair and a built-in closet. Most closets have no door, so pack a tension rod and curtain.
Room sizes vary, so measure before buying rugs. Carson-Hollis rooms are 13'1" x 14'9", Nemec rooms are 10' x 17', and Hatter bedrooms are 12' x 9'.
Apartment residents need cookware, dishes and cleaning supplies. Oaks, Palms and Cove kitchens have no microwave, while University Village kitchens include one.
You loft and de-loft your own bed, and University Hall lends rubber mallets. Read Stetson's Recommended Packing List and prohibited items before you shop.
- XL twin sheets (full-size sheets for University Village and Cove singles)
- Curtain rod and hooks for the open closet
- Shower curtain and bathroom cleaner for suites and apartments
- Pots, pans and utensils for apartment kitchens
Sources: stetson.edu/carson-hollis-hall, stetson.edu/nemec-hall, stetson.edu/hatter-hall, stetson.edu/stetson-cove, stetson.edu/About_Your_Hall-UniversityVi, stetson.edu/current-students, stetson.edu/fall-move-in
How do you move out of Stetson housing at the end of spring?
The latest spring closing page sets check-out at noon on Wednesday, May 6. You must also leave within 24 hours of your last final, whichever comes first.
That page does not state its year, so confirm the date with Residential Living and Learning. Your RA sends a sign-up for a check-out meeting once your room is empty and clean.
Anything left behind is treated as abandoned, and you are billed for disposal. Late stays cost $50 per night and must be requested on MyHousing.
Graduating seniors attending commencement get extra time at no charge. Unclaimed bikes are removed by Public Safety and donated in June.
- Defrost your fridge several days early and leave the door open
- Take trash and recycling to the blue dumpsters
- Return keys in a sealed check-out envelope; mailing keys back is not allowed
- Express check-out waives your right to appeal damage charges
Sources: stetson.edu/spring-end-of-term
Where can you store or ship your things over the summer?
Stetson names Storage Scholars as its preferred packing, moving, shipping and storage partner. International and out-of-state students often use it over the summer.
The Campus Post Office, inside the Stetson Bookstore, can estimate shipping costs and suggest FedEx, UPS or USPS. It is open weekdays from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
If you take summer classes, you can apply for summer housing from April 1. Summer 2025 housing was in University Village at $175 per week.
Sources: stetson.edu/landing-moving, stetson.edu/spring-end-of-term, stetson.edu/post-office, stetson.edu/summer-app
Can you live off campus at Stetson, and where do students go?
Only after you meet the three-year residency rule or get an exemption. Exemptions in 2025 included 90+ credits, age 22+, marriage, or family within 45 miles.
Moving off campus without approval can bring financial and disciplinary consequences. Request an exemption through MyHousing before you sign a lease.
Stetson's transition office lists nearby complexes, without endorsing them. Weigh lease length, financial aid effects, safety and distance before you sign.
- Athens Commons and DeLand Commons, about 0.1 miles from campus
- Lyn Village Apartments, about 0.9 miles
- Pointe Grand and Spring Garden Apartments, about 1.4 miles
- Madison at Carrington Place, about 2.4 miles
Sources: catalog.stetson.edu/residential-living-learning, stetson.edu/housing-selection-guide-2025, stetson.edu/off-campus-housing
How do you get to and around DeLand without a car?
Votran Route 31 and VoRide serve Stetson. VoRide is a public rideshare across greater DeLand for $2 a ride, booked through a free app.
Regular Votran bus fare is $2, or $4 for an all-day pass. Route 31 also reaches the DeBary SunRail station and the South DeLand Walmart.
The DeLand SunRail and Amtrak station is at 2491 Old New York Avenue. A weekday Votran circulator stops at Woodland Boulevard and Ohio Avenue, near campus.
Stetson runs no airport shuttle. Groome Transportation links Orlando airports to the Village Café in DeLand, and Daytona Beach International is about 20 miles away.
International students arriving for Spring 2026 got a free pickup from Orlando International on move-in day if they signed up. Otherwise, a Lyft or Uber from MCO can cost about $100 each way.
- Walmart North DeLand, 1699 N. Woodland Blvd., open daily 6 a.m. to 11 p.m.
- Register any car with Public Safety within five days of bringing it to campus
Sources: votran.org/west-side-popular-destinatio, votran.org/bus-fares-passes.stml, stetson.edu/airport-transportation, r2ctpo.org/votran-to-resume-sunrail-cir, stetson.edu/transportation, walmart.com/860-deland-fl, stetson.edu/deland-vehicle-registration, stetson.edu/orientation
How many moving totes do you need for a Stetson move?
A single or shared hall room usually fits in about 20 totes. That covers clothes, bedding, desk supplies and a few kitchen basics.
A one- or two-bedroom apartment like Stetson Oaks or Cove usually needs about 40. A four-bedroom University Village share is closer to a dorm room, since the living room comes furnished.
Stackable lidded totes are easier than cardboard on stairwells like Carson-Hollis.
What does it cost for Stetson students?
Every package includes the totes, snap-on lids, moving labels, a dolly, delivery and pickup (plus the mileage fee above). Your 15% comes off the rental and any extra weeks.
| Package | Regular | Student | Extra week | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 20 totes | $75.65 | $25.50 | Studios, dorms and small one-bedroom apartments | |
| 40 totes | $126.65 | $38.25 | One- and two-bedroom apartments or condos | |
| 60 totes | $169.15 | $46.75 | Two- and three-bedroom homes | |
| 80 totes | $211.65 | $55.25 | Three- and four-bedroom homes, or homes with a full garage |
Request totes with 15% off Find my package
How does the student discount work?
Request online
Tick “I'm a college student” on the request form and pick your school. Nothing is charged yet.
We call to confirm
We check tote availability for your dates and text you a secure payment link with the 15% off applied.
Show your ID at delivery
Clean totes, lids, labels and a dolly arrive at your dorm, apartment or family's home.
We pick up the empty totes
Unpack, stack the empty totes and text us. We collect them, so there's no cardboard to haul to the dumpster.
Stetson resources for moving in and out
Official pages worth bookmarking before move-in. Links open the school's own site.
- Residential Living & LearningMain housing site, application timelines and Housing Central login.
- Our Residential CommunitiesList of every hall, suite, apartment and house with links to details.
- Fall Check-In and Move-InCheck-in routes, what to bring and post-move-in steps.
- FOCUS 2026 Schedule (PDF)Move-in day and orientation week schedule for new students.
- Spring Move-inSpring 2027 check-in dates.
- Spring End of Semester InformationClosing deadlines, check-out steps, late stay and fees.
- Moving In, Out, and AroundRoom changes, closing instructions and summer storage links.
- Summer Housing ApplicationsWho qualifies for summer housing and weekly rates.
- Off-Campus HousingNearby apartment complexes and things to weigh before leasing.
- Vehicle Registration (Public Safety)How to register a car, bike or scooter and get a decal.
- Campus Post OfficeMail and package pickup in the Stetson Bookstore.
- Dining ServicesDining locations and meal plan information.
Stetson moving tote questions
Do Stetson students have to live on campus?
Yes, undergraduates must live on campus for their first three years. Exemptions exist for things like 90+ credits, age 22+, marriage or family nearby. You request one through MyHousing.
Which Stetson halls have elevators?
The new Lynn Hall and Hatter Hall have elevators. Fraternity Houses A-E have service elevators for accessibility needs only. Emily Hall, University Hall and University Village list no elevator.
Where do new students check in on move-in day?
At a drive-thru in the Lynn Business Center parking lot. In 2026 it ran 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. on Saturday, August 15.
Can I bring my pet to Stetson?
Only to University Hall, Stetson Cove or the 300 building of University Village. Animals must be approved in advance through MyHousing. Pets cannot enter other halls or the check-in area.
What happens if I leave things in my room at move-out?
Stetson treats them as abandoned property. You are charged for disposal, and improper check-out fees can post to your student account.
Do Stetson apartments come with a microwave?
University Village kitchens include one. Stetson Oaks, Stetson Palms and Stetson Cove kitchens do not, so bring your own if you want one.
How far is Stetson from the Daytona Beach airport?
About 20 miles. Orlando Sanford is 28 miles and Orlando International is 57 miles. Stetson does not run its own airport shuttle.
Do you deliver moving totes to Stetson?
Yes. Stetson is about 24 miles from our Ormond Beach base, just past our free 20-mile zone. We add $1.50 per mile each way beyond 20 miles (roughly $12 round trip) and quote it before you pay. We drop off at a residence hall, an off-campus apartment or a family home nearby.
How do Stetson students get 15% off?
Tick the student box on the request form and choose Stetson. Show a valid student ID at delivery, or text us a photo after our call. It doesn't combine with a referral code; we apply whichever saves you more.
Is Daytona Moving Bins Co. part of the school?
No. We're an independent, locally owned business in Ormond Beach. We aren't affiliated with or endorsed by Stetson University, DeLand Campus.
More college and area guides
- All college moving guides
- Moving totes for Embry-Riddle students
- Moving totes for Bethune-Cookman students
- Moving totes for Daytona State students
- Moving totes for UCF Daytona Beach students
- Moving totes for Keiser Daytona students
- Moving totes for Palmer Florida students
Sources for this page (41)
- catalog.stetson.edu/residential-living-learning
- stetson.edu/housing-selection-guide-2025
- stetson.edu/housing
- stetson.edu/airport-transportation
- r2ctpo.org/votran-to-resume-sunrail-cir
- stetson.edu/immunization-requirements
- stetson.edu/carson-hollis-hall
- stetson.edu/chaudoin-hall
- stetson.edu/conrad-hall
- stetson.edu/current-students
- stetson.edu/emily-hall
- stetson.edu/fall-move-in
- stetson.edu/gordis-hall
- stetson.edu/hatter-hall
- stetson.edu/houses-1-7
- stetson.edu/houses-a-f
- stetson.edu/landing-moving
- stetson.edu/lynn-hall
- stetson.edu/About_Your_Hall-UniversityVi
- stetson.edu/nemec-hall
- stetson.edu/spring-end-of-term
- stetson.edu/spring-move-in
- stetson.edu/stetson-cove
- stetson.edu/stetson-oaks
- stetson.edu/stetson-palms-apartments
- stetson.edu/summer-app
- stetson.edu/university-hall
- stetson.edu/university-village-apartment
- stetson.edu/post-office
- stetson.edu/deland-vehicle-registration
- stetson.edu/off-campus-housing
- stetson.edu/focus-schedule-2026--7.30
- stetson.edu/transportation
- stetson.edu/orientation
- votran.org/bus-fares-passes.stml
- votran.org/west-side-popular-destinatio
- walmart.com/860-deland-fl
- www2.stetson.edu/thanksgiving-holiday-schedul
- www2.stetson.edu/stetson-university-opens-new
- www2.stetson.edu/stetson-community-welcomes-c
- www2.stetson.edu/whats-new-on-campus
Daytona Moving Bins Co. is an independent local business. We aren't affiliated with, sponsored by or endorsed by Stetson University, DeLand Campus. School names are used only to describe where we deliver.
